Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

Sixteen North Texas Soccer alums named to Men’s NCAA All-Conference teams

November 21, 2016 04:28 PM

FRISCO (Nov. 21, 2016)
– Sixteen former North Texas players were named to Men’s NCAA Division I All-Conference teams for the 2016 season. Denver’s Reagan Dunk was named the Summit League Defender of the Year for a second consecutive year.

Five North Texas Soccer alums received Women’s NCAA Conference Player of the Year awards, while 42 were named to All-Conference Teams.

Dunk was a NSCAA Second Team All-American, MAC Hermann Semifinalist and a First Team All-Summit League member in 2015. This season, Dunk was named to this year’s MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List and has started 20 of Denver’s 21 matches as the team has yet to lose a game this season. Denver won its first match of the NCAA Tournament 3-0 against UNLV on Nov. 20. The Dallas native played his youth soccer for Solar SC and played in the Chamber Classic Soccer Alliance Classic League from 2006-09. Dunk’s Denver teammate and fellow North Texas Soccer alum, Blake Elder, was named to the Summit League Second Team and Newcomer Team.

Of the 16 former North Texas Soccer players named to All-Conference teams, eight made the 2016 NCAA Tournament. Zack Stavrou (Tulsa), Matt Constant (New Mexico) and Martin Melchor (Coastal Carolina) have been eliminated from the tournament, but Elder, Dunk, Brandon Aubrey (Notre Dame), Alan Winn (North Carolina) and Mitch LaGro (Creighton) have reached the Round of 16 with their respective teams.

North Texas Alums named to All-Conference teams

Player Hometown College Award
Martin Melchor Jacksonville, Texas Coastal Carolina Sun Belt Second Team
Mitch LaGro Dallas Creighton BIG EAST Second Team
Reagan Dunk Dallas Denver University Summit First Team
Blake Elder Fort Worth, Texas Denver University Summit Second Team, Newcomer Team
Alex Castaneda Dallas Eastern Illinois Summit Newcomer Team
Marco Ortiz Fort Worth, Texas Furman University Southern Second Team
Ivan Alvarado Fort Worth, Texas Lipscomb University Atlantic Sun First Team
Austin Eager Carrollton, Texas Lipscomb University Atlantic Sun Freshman Team
Jackson Morse Plano, Texas Memphis American Athletic Freshman Team
Matt Constant Dallas New Mexico American Athletic Freshman Team
Alan Winn Garland, Texas North Carolina Atlantic Coast Second Team
Brandon Aubrey Plano, Texas Notre Dame Atlantic Coast First Team
Jordan Cano Frisco, Texas Southern Methodist American Athletic Second Team
Zack Stavrou Dallas Tulsa University American Athletic Second Team
Kris Reaves Duluth, Ga. University of Portland West Coast First Team
Brock Dudley Plano, Texas US Naval Academy Patriot Second Team