Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

28 Teenagers Receive LIJSL Scholarships

Scholarship recipient Rory King and his parents

By Randy Vogt, Director of Public Relations, Eastern New York Youth Soccer Association

August 7, 2020-Traditionally, the Long Island Junior Soccer League (LIJSL) celebrates its scholarship recipients with a brunch on the second Sunday of July at the Huntington Hilton. That obviously did not occur this summer with the continued ban on large gatherings because of the pandemic. So the LIJSL was resourceful in holding an informal ceremony honoring each recipient at the LIJSL office in Ronkonkoma last Sunday, August 2.

The scholarship winners were honored in presentations held in the league's Media Room. Then they adjourned to the LIJSL Boardroom, where they were served refreshments along with the scholarship presenter, as other families entered the Media Room.

Scholarship recipient Nicole Jenal

2020 marks the 40th anniversary of the LIJSL Scholarship Program. The scholarship ceremony, the first-ever at the LIJSL office, was the first in-person event in the Eastern New York Youth Soccer Association (EYYSA) since the lockdown occurred five months ago.

The LIJSL awards scholarships based on academic and athletic achievement plus community service to student/athletes who have completed their senior year of high school. These well-rounded teenagers exemplify the mission of the league and its slogan of “Building Character Through Soccer.”

“This has not been an easy year, but even in a pandemic, we have donors who continue to be generous and recipients who are worthy,” stated Lynn Scarpati, Scholarship Program Chairperson. "We have all found something special in crisis and ways to face these challenges.” 

Scholarship recipient Declan Griffin and his parents

Congratulations to this year’s scholarship winners:

Award Recipient High School College Attending
Addie Mattei-Iaia Presidential Scholarship Matthew Power Northport UMass Amherst
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial Scholarship Danielle DiTomasso Plainedge Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial Scholarship Emily Rosa-Figueirdo St. John the Baptist Quinnipiac University
Bobbie & David Marks Memorial Scholarship Scott Thorley Eastport/South Manor UMass Amherst
Brittney Walsh Memorial Scholarship Nicole Jenal Bethpage Felician University
Brittney Walsh Memorial Scholarship Gregory Paul Mepham Alfred University
Carolyn Page Memorial Scholarship Makayla Reardon Sacred Heart Academy Fairfield University
Eileen Frazita Memorial Female Student Scholarship Sarah Santacroce Mattituck Sacred Heart University
Frank Gorman Memorial Scholarship Halle Trahey East Islip Molloy College
Jerry Marinan Memorial Scholarship Michael Leandrou Oyster Bay American University
John R. Pinezich Memorial Scholarship Conor Andrews Calhoun The Ohio State University
Joseph Lombardo Memorial Scholarship Matthew Jakubowsky St. Anthony’s St. John’s University
LIJSL Merit Scholarship Olivia Vinson Wantagh Binghamton University
LIJSL Merit Scholarship Leyla Kalmaz Carey Molloy College
Matthew Scarpati Memorial Scholarship Ross Gossett Bellmore JFK University of Maryland
Michael B. Scarpati Memorial Goalkeeper Scholarship Michael Koutsouras New Hyde Park Fairleigh Dickinson University
Michael Secko Memorial Scholarship Tyler McElwee Mepham SUNY Oneonta
Miles for Matt Scholarship Declan Griffin New Hyde Park Susquehanna University
Miles for Matt Scholarship Gaetano Parisi Mepham Roger Williams University
Miles for Matt Scholarship Megan McIntosh Riverhead Molloy College
Pat Grecco Scholarship Abigail Landri West Islip SUNY Oneonta
Peter C. Collins Memorial Presidential Scholarship Rory King Mepham Northeastern University
Sandra Atlas Bass Scholarship Kaylee Hoffman St. Anthony’s University of Georgia
Sean Urda Memorial Scholarship Daniel Conigliaro General MacArthur Adelphi University
Rocco Amoroso Memorial Sportsmanship Scholarship Luca Rienecker St. Anthony’s University of Rochester
George Hoffman Memorial TOPSoccer Scholarship Annalea Passeggiata Smithtown Binghamton University
George Hoffman Memorial TOPSoccer Scholarship Hannah Walz West Hempstead Molloy College
LIJSL TOPSoccer Scholarship Timothy Cappitelli South Side Fairfield University

Sarah_for_WebScholarship recipient Sarah Santacroce. Photos courtesy of the LIJSL.

With approximately 100,000 youth soccer players––both boys and girls––and more than 25,000 volunteers, the non-profit Eastern New York Youth Soccer Association (ENYYSA) stretches from Montauk Point, Long Island to the Canadian border. Members are affiliated with nine leagues throughout the association, which covers the entire state of New York east of Route 81. ENYYSA exists to promote and enhance the game of soccer for children and teenagers between the ages of 5 and 19 years old, and to encourage the healthy development of youth players, coaches, referees and administrators. All levels of soccer are offered––from intramural, travel team and premier players as well as Children With Special Needs. No child who wants to play soccer is turned away. ENYYSA is a proud member of the United States Soccer Federation and United States Youth Soccer Association. For more information, please log on to, which receives nearly 300,000 hits annually from the growing soccer community.