Skip to Main Content

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

2018 Inductees Announced for Hall of Fame

When we are in the heat of the fall season it can be difficult to remember soccer any way other than the way it is now. The reality is there was a time when soccer was just getting started in Nebraska and it has grown and morphed into thousands of youth and adults, playing across the state in multiple leagues and clubs now under our umbrella. 

Nebraska State Soccer felt there has been a lack of recognition of our history, amazing stories of our humble beginnings being forgotten and that we were missing an appreciation for those who really started at the ground to grow the game that we all love and spend so much time surrounded by. In 2017 NSS started the Hall of Fame in order to properly celebrate those who started or did their part to grow the beautiful game.

The Nebraska State Soccer Hall of Fame inducted its first class last year including John Hilske, Dick Bene, Don Klosterman, Russ Tice and Heather Taggart.  It is our goal to recognize individuals from all sides of the game- administrators, coaches, players and referees. Our 2017 celebration was a night of fun anecdotes, inspiring stories and a overwhelming sense of community as we all celebrated where we have been and where we are going as state.

It is with great excitement that we announce the 2018 Nebraska State Soccer Hall of Fame Inductees (listed alphabetically):


Kim (Engelbert) Gates
Lifetime Achievement- Player

Bob Murray

Jimmy Norris
Lifetime Achievement- Referee

Jose Novoa

John Pestal

Klaus Preuss



If you would like to join the celebration, you are invited to attend 

2018 Celebration Dinner and Hall of Fame Induction

November 3rd,

Cocktails at 6pm, Dinner at 7pm

Harper Center Ballroom
Creighton University’s campus ( 602 N 20th St)

Dinner is open to public, tickets are available online here: